Family meal is bloody hard work when you’re skint

Food-1

The weekend provided by far the hardest day of the challenge so far, as there was a family meal to go to, and it involved sitting, drinking water, watching people eat, watching people eat my food, and feeling incredibly hungry by the end of it…

I did, however, get some of my food wrapped up so I could take it home, freeze it, and have it on Thursday! Bonus. Was comedy at times, but pretty miserable for a meal! It’s rare my resolve gets tested so much, as loving family cheerfully point out: “Just have a bit of that Yorkshire Pudding, that only cost a couple of p to make…” and “We won’t tell anybody…” Still, now it’s wrapped and frozen I have something I can eat at the end of the challenge, so that’s nice. Once again something that people living in genuine poverty can’t look forward to.

It’s feeling pretty hard work now. I thought it would be relatively easy overall, as I don’t really eat much anyway, but it’s just not. Obviously I’m trying to keep this blog as light-hearted as possible – it’s not really about me – but just an insight into what it’s like if you’re genuinely trying to live on a tiny amount of money.

Food-3

The things I’ve picked obviously do a job, but I’ve definitely lost a kg or two, and it’s amazing how quickly you tend to feel peckish again. I know there are more effective ways of spending the pound, too, and on more varied food that do a better job, but there you go!

Yesterday I splashed out on rubbish as a weekend treat – packet of crisps, some waffles, and enjoyed drinking the end of the apple juice. Still been munching through the porridge a couple of times a day, and still have a few slices of bread left.

Today’s money went on fruit, bananas, an apple, and some more biscuits, although I haven’t had them yet – will eat them tomorrow when I’m in the office. Hopefully I’ll have enough for a pint of milk and something cereal (that isn’t porridge) tomorrow night.

Food-2

The Evening Telegraph came round today to take some photographs of my fundraising attempt, so be sure to buy Thursday’s edition if you’re in Northamptonshire. Hopefully it’ll help raise a couple of pounds.

I’ll upload the pics of the rest of the food I’ve bought / receipts later, as I realise there’s only so many photographs of bananas you can look at!

And as always, please text PHLL90 £3 to 70070 to make a donation to me and Save the Children. It’s free to text on all UK networks, and every single penny goes to charity. Please check out my JustGiving page as well.

Leave a Reply

